Black text = links to be completed soon!

Jewish Death Practices:
Overview / Summary
Origins and History
Visiting the Sick or Dying 

Phases of Death Observance
    Approaching the Time of Death
    Between Death and Burial
    Burial and Cremation 
    Mourning Practices

Spiritual Aspects
Funeral Homes
Funeral Contracts


Chevra Kadisha:
Articles about Chevra Kadisha

Tahara Manuals and Procedures
Tahara Training
Tahara Stories
Tahara Supplies Lists
Funeral Home Supplies


Organ Donation


Infection Control


Next Conference
Previous Conferences


Learning & Resources:
Gamliel Institute

KNIT Resource Center
    Contacts for Answers
    Catalog of Articles
    Additional Links

FAQ About Death and Dying
Modern Dilemmas
Guided Learning
Jewish Sources and  Responsa
Synagogue Brochures
Community Education

Gamliel Institute - Tahara and Shmira

Gamliel Institute’s Course 2:  Chevrah Kadisha: Taharah & Shmirah REGISTER NOW!  12 sessions, either: * Mondays, January 11 to March 28, noon-1:30 pm EST (9-10:30 am PST), or * Tuesdays, January 5 to March 22, 8-9:30 pm EST (5-6:30 pm PST) Online orientation sessions (students may attend either one): * Monday, January 4, noon-1:30 pm EST (9-10:30 am PST) * Monday, January 4, 8-9:30 pm EST (5-6:30 pm PST)  

This course is an in-depth study of the work of the Chevrah Kadisha in the activities and mitzvot of guarding the body of the deceased (shmirah) and of ritually preparing the body for burial (taharah). This is very much a "how-to" course as well as an examination of the liturgy and of the unusual situations that can arise. The course also looks at the impact of the work on the community and on the members of the Chevrah Kadisha, and provides an ongoing review of best practices. Studies include: spiritual transformative power; personal testimony; meaning and purpose; face of God; tahor and tamei; tachrichim; history; manuals and tefilot; training; impediments; safety; and complications.  

For more information, please go to and click on the link for the Gamliel Institute. You can register at